RSS

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

27 Nov

This year I got a very lovely order from an old friend.

She made an education for dance pedagogics and had her exam this september. One of her tasks for exam was to choose a theme and create a proper choreographie. Her Theme was Mary Poppins (she couldn´t have chosen better 😀 ) and she engaged me to sew a big part of the costumes.

Because the choreographie was about the dance between Mary Poppins and the chimney sweeps, she wanted me to sew five red and white striped jackets for the sweeps (inspired by the outfit from Dick van Dyke) and I did my very best 😉

MP-5
I used jersey for the jackets bacause the dancers needed a lot free moving space.

MP-4
The revers in detail.

MP-1
Side face.

MP-3
Back view. The fabric reminds me of vintage Sweet Shops 😉

MP-2
And the collar in detail.

And here are some pictures from the performance:

Perf.9

Perf.8

Perf.6

Perf.5

Perf.4

Perf.3

Perf.2

Perf.1

Thanks a lot to Aaron Freier for the photos.

For me it was a very interesting and pleasurable work, because I love the Mary Poppins stories and it was a great feeling to see my costumes in action on stage.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 27. November 2013 in arts&crafts, fashion, outfits, sewing

 

2 responses to “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

  1. Rai

    27. November 2013 at 13:43

    Lovely work and the shirts really remind me on walking (or rather dancing) candy canes^^

     
    • Tea-Chic Adventures

      29. November 2013 at 22:24

      Thank you 😀 Dancing candy canes is a very cute association^^.

       

Leave a Reply

 
